top of page

5 reasons why a handwritten mail is better


1. It stands out

I get so few handwritten mail nowadays, whenever I open my mailbox it is always bills, statements and advertisements. All of these are printed and sent out en masse.

Those that catches my attention usually are wedding invitations, birthday cards, greeting cards for that time of the year.

The common point being, that the address is handwritten. And the envelope will be of a bright colour.

2. It shows sincerity

This overlaps with point 1. In the sense that everything else is printed, everyone gets the same treatment. In the name of efficiency. Which is a good thing. Yet, too much of a good thing can turn bad.

I get used to the efficiency, it becomes the norm. This is the baseline, my mind treats it as "the usual". Thus, conserving brain energy by letting the information pass by.

So when a new thing pops up, a handwritten mail for example, I will think "oh you put in the effort to make this, let's take a closer look".

3. It conveys feelings

If printed text is 2D, then writing adds one more dimension making it 3D.

For some reason, I have never considered typing an appreciation letter to my wife.

All through the years, I have sent birthday letters, anniversary letters or simply because I wanted to. All of these were always handwritten.

Perhaps on the instinctual level, I felt handwriting is better able to help me express my thoughts.

4. Improves learning

By seeing and moving our hands to form the words, our brain is being used in a different way. Memory is stimulated and knowledge is retained better.

Also, it makes for better hand eye coordination. Which translates to better hand writing.

5. Getting creative

Start with a blank piece of paper or coloured paper or a mailing set printed with designs. Depending on which aspect your inner artist wants to work on.

For me, since I love calligraphy, writing with a dip pen or brush pen is the way to go.

Writing the addressee's name in big brush letters on the envelope, penning down my thoughts on the letter itself. Wouldn't that be something special to give?

bottom of page