top of page

Snail Mail is better than Email

Email is efficient. Fast to deliver and very low cost. All the reasons why it will probably be ignored and left unread in your inbox.

Personally, I make the effort to read all emails received. Or at least skim thru the contents to make sure I don't delete something important.

It really irks me when I see someone with a 4 digit number of unread notification on their email app. I will be screaming in my head READ THE EMAILS OR DELETE THEM! But I don't say it out loud.

So what are my chances of someone like that opening the email that I sent? If it is work related, chances are very high.

What if it is a personal email? Something like a e-greeting card? Will it be mistaken for an advertisement? Probably, it will be treated as a low priority email and left for later.

So, let's go with a different tactic. Postal service seems to be a good choice.

Although snail mail is less popular for communications with a deadline, it is still used for delivery of items purchased online, items that can fit into the post box that is.

Back in April 2018, during my tour of Japan, I was sending out postcards back to my home address whenever I reached a new place.

Be it a change of hotel or a tourist sightseeing spot. My wife will insist on purchasing a 'few' postcards and mail it back, which she will then collect when we return to our country.

Since I practice calligraphy, I might as well write down a few choice words on the postcards and post it on my social media pages before mailing it.

And what do you know when a good friend of mine actually requested that I mail one of my calligraphy postcards to him while I was in Japan. His reason was because it looked very nice and wanted one as a souvenir.

If a simple postcard with personalised contents will grab an individual's attention, then a well made greeting card hand written using calligraphy will certainly entice the receiver to value it more. Don't you agree?

bottom of page