top of page

Desiderata Pen update

Alright, so I received the desiderata Icarus a few weeks ago. I wanted to do an unpacking video, but the package was so … how do I put it? Low key? It was wrapped in 3 layers of brown paper and put in a cardboard box. Guess that is what it means to keep the pens low priced.

The recommended setup is to use a G Nib, but I went along with a hunt 22b nib because I like the flexibility. The ink is higgins Sepia. The writing was great at first. I had problems with consistent inkflow, had to give the pen a light tap every few words to get the ink to flow. It also leaked when I brought it outside along with me, probably due to the shaking around whenever I moved. I am glad it had a tight screw cap.

The hunt 22b nib also started corroding after the first week, I ignored it since I can still write decently with it. Though I could see a black spot forming near the nib tip, signs of rusting. After 3 weeks of this setup, the ink finally ran out. The nib portion that was inserted into the pen had rusted black, I could smell the rust when I pulled it out. Fortunately the pen itself is not affected, washed it off with dish soap and off I go with a new nib and ink!

To prevent corrosion, or at least delay it for as long as possible on the nib, I used a titanium G nib this time around. Ink will be iroshizuku tsukushi. Results are - nice gold nib to contrast with the pen’s dark body, inkflow is very smooth. Still needs to give it a light shake to get the ink going initially. Haven’t tried taking it with me on my daily outings yet.

Although I used G nib when I started dip pen calligraphy, I have grown used to the hunt 22b. Now I have to get back the feeling of a G nib writing. Ugh. Maybe I can find a more flexible g nib out there? Perhaps I can use a rose brause nib? Stay tuned for more experimentation!

bottom of page